Opposition confirmed for the new season

Reds now know for definite who they will be playing next season with the league allocations ratified at the AGM held at Blackpool.

Relegated to Step 4, Workington will take their place in the North-West Division alongside Brighouse Town, City of Liverpool, Clitheroe, Colne, Droylsden, Dunston, Kendal Town, Marine, Marske United, Mossley, Ossett United, Pickering Town, Pontefract Collieries, Prescot Cables, Ramsbottom United, Runcorn Linnets, Tadcaster Albion, Trafford and Widnes.

Glossop North End lost their appeal over their lateral movement to the South-East Division.

Fixtures for the 2019-20 campaign will be released in mid July ahead of the 17 August start.

Before then, a new sponsorship will be announced with a significant partner following in the footsteps of HFS, Multipart, Unibond and Evo-Stik.

Chairman John Mackay and Steve Durham represented the club at the dinner and they were seated with officials of Buxton and the departing Colwyn Bay who are switching to the pyramid structure in their homeland.

The Premier Division Player of the Year award went to Farsley Celtic’s James Spencer with Nantwich Town’s Joe Malkin the Young Player of the Year recipient. And the hypothetical Premier Division Team of the Year was named as:

Peter Crook (Hyde United), Will Hayhurst (Farsley Celtic), Mark Roberts (Warrington Town), David Raven (Warrington Town), Brad Roscoe (Buxton), Robert Briggs (South Shields), Sean Cooke (Nantwich Town), Alistair Waddecar (Bamber Bridge), Michael Coulson (Scarborough Athletic), James Spencer (Farsley Celtic) and Nathan Watson (Basford United).

Grand Hotel, Blackpool

South Shields was voted Premier Division Pitch of the Year and although Reds won’t have the pleasure of playing there next season they will play at Trafford whose playing surface was voted best in the west.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.
Don`t copy text!