Opponents confirmed for new season

The FA has confirmed the league allocations for the 2021-22 season and Reds find themselves in a re-structured NPL West Division which, on paper, looks a very competitive section.

Fifty eight clubs will form the three NPL Divisions at Step 4 with Reds based in the twenty club West Division with the revamped East and newly formed Midlands sections hosting nineteen clubs each.

Reds have met the majority of their opponents in league competition before but will meet 1874 Northwich, Market Drayton Town and FA Vase finalists, Warrington Rylands, for the first time next term.

It will mean Reds visiting four new grounds next season – the three aforementioned newcomers plus the Halton Stadium at Widnes where we were due to visit in each of the last two seasons.

1874 Northwich have been ground sharing in recent years and, last season, played their home games at Barnton.

Reds will still clock-up the motorway miles and there will be four trips – Kidsgrove Athletic, Leek Town, Market Drayton Town and Newcastle Town all a bit further than their longest journey last season.

At 181 miles, the journey to Market Drayton will be the longest and the average ‘round-trip’ will be 284 miles.      

NPL West Division:

1874 Northwich, Bootle, City of Liverpool, Clitheroe, Colne, Glossop North End, Kendal Town, Kidsgrove Athletic, Leek Town, Marine, Market Drayton Town, Mossley, Newcastle Town, Prescot Cables, Ramsbottom United, Runcorn Linnets, Trafford, Warrington Rylands, Widnes, Workington.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.
Don`t copy text!