County League AGM

The Cumberland County League will operate with eighteen clubs for the 2023-24 season after accepting three new teams at the Annual General Meeting.

Newly formed Dearham, Keswick and Mirehouse were voted into the competition by member clubs with the latter making a welcome return to the league after a brief hiatus. They will all play in the First Division.

Reds Development Team will play in what looks a competitive Premier Division, along with eight other clubs, their opponents including Aspatria, Bransty, Carlisle City, Cleator Moor Celtic, Gosforth, Maryport Athletic, Wigton Harriers and Unisun Athletic.

The First Division will comprise of: Cockermouth, Dearham, Keswick, Mirehouse, Silloth, Whitehaven, Whitehaven Miners Social, Whitehaven Miners Social Development and Windscale.

The league campaign will kick-off on Saturday 19 August.

Reds finished in 5th position last term after Wigton Harriers won the title by the narrowest of margins. The Barton Laws outfit, Maryport Athletic and Gosforth all finished on 27 points with Wigton declared champions thanks to their superior goal difference.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.
Don`t copy text!