Club app icon

Pitchero Club

The official Workington AFC app


Players recognised

By Paul Armstrong

The heartache of last season was quickly forgotten ...

... as club officials and supporters lifted the doom and gloom with a night of celebration at the Washington Central hotel.

In a special night rivalling the PFA awards for glitz and glamour, Commercial Officer Darrell Thomas emerged as a more than capable MC as supporters and staff recognised the efforts of the players.

The Reds Independent Supporters Club were first to the stage and they paid tribute to three of their members, Elaine Heron, Darren Wood and Graham Bates before recognising the work made by Director Ross Peacock for liaising with the various groups that operate under the club’s umbrella.

RISC award - Darren Wood

RISC award - Graham Bates

RISC award - Ross Peacock

They also selected two players who had made an impact throughout the season – Niall Cowperthwaite and Luke Ivison.

RISC award - Luke Ivison

RISC award - Niall Cowperthwaite

Reds Reserves turned out in force and there was warm applause for Players’ Player of the Year recipient, Nathan Dryden, and Player of the Year Joe Hetherington as they collected their trophies.

Reserves' Players' player award - Nathan Dryden

Reserves' Player of the Year - Joe Hetherington

Dryden also collected the Golden Boot after finishing top scorer with nineteen goals – a tally that included four goals in one match at Hyde United.

Reserves' Gold Boot award - Nathan Dryden

Gari Rowntree, who has admitted that his playing days are numbered due to injury, was voted the Supporters’ Player of the Year for the first team while Niall Cowperthwaite picked up the coveted Players’ Player of the Year accolade.

Supporters’ Player of the Year award - Gari Rowntree

Players’ Player of the Year award - Niall Cowperthwaite

For the first time, the News & Star donated a trophy and readers unanimously voted for Gari Rowntree as the inaugural winner.

News & Star Player of the Season award - Gari Rowntree

Club director, Mike Rollo, then presented an engraved tankard to long-serving groundsman, Jeff Curwen, who battled bravely through twelve months of Cumbrian weather preparing the pitch for match day.

Award to long-serving Groundsman - Jeff Curwen

Three club stalwarts were honoured for their long and distinguished service to the club with engraved pieces of glassware presented to David Hewson (fifteen years as player, coach and manager), Lee Andrews (eleven years as player, coach and manager) and Gari Rowntree (400 appearances).

Distinguished service award - Dave Hewson

Distinguished service award - Lee Andrews

400 appearances award - Gari Rowntree

John Mackay concluded the presentations when the inaugural Chairman’s Award, an engraved silver salver, was handed to Lee Andrews.

Chairman's award - Lee Andrews

The Supporters Club handed over a cheque for £6,000 to chairman John Mackay at Friday’s event.

An enjoyable evening was brought to an end with an impromptu auction of football memorabilia before Ashy’s Disco provided some tunes.

Updated 14:57 - 4 May 2019 by Paul Armstrong

Where next?

Football Cards Winners - Junior Cup Finals The winners were: Card 1:- Isla (claimed) Card 2:- Emma Wilson (unclaimed)
Danny will become Reds' boss Carlisle United’s outgoing skipper, Danny Grainger, is the man Workington will pin their hopes on to revive the ailing Borough Park Club.


Loading comments

Sat 27 Apr
League 5 – 1
Tue 23 Apr
League 2 – 4
Mon 22 Apr
First Team Lancaster City
League 0 – 2
Sat 20 Apr
First Team Buxton
League 3 – 2
Sat 13 Apr
League 0 – 2

News sponsors


Club sponsors